Who Are You Grinning At, You Ghost?

Quick quiz – No checking Google, Sports Fans!

Who said the words of the title, and where, and to whom?

. . .  . . . . . . . Need another hint?

“Ray. People will come, Ray. They’ll come to Iowa for reasons they can’t even fathom. They’ll turn up your driveway not knowing for sure why they’re doing it. They’ll arrive at your door as innocent as children, longing for the past. “Of course, we won’t mind if you look around”, you’ll say. “It’s only $20 per person”. They’ll pass over the money without even thinking about it, for it is money they have and peace they lack. And they’ll walk out to the bleachers; sit in shirtsleeves on a perfect afternoon. They’ll find they have reserved seats somewhere along one of the baselines, where they sat when they were children and cheered their heroes. And they’ll watch the game and it’ll be as if they dipped themselves in magic waters. The memories will be so thick they’ll have to brush them away from their faces.”

“The one constant through all the years, Ray, has been baseball. America has rolled by like an army of steam rollers. It has been erased like a blackboard, rebuilt and erased again. But baseball has marked the time. This field, this game; it’s a part of our past, Ray. It reminds us of all that once was good, and that could be again. Oh…people will come, Ray. People will most definitely come.”

I can’t help you if you haven’t gotten it by now.  But even my dearly departed Lou would have answered the first hint before I finished asking, and she wasn’t even raised in America or around the game of baseball.  Astro freak that she was, my being a life-long Red Sox fan really made things interesting when Houston was shifted to the Junior Circuit.

I’d ask if anyone knows what the “Junior Circuit” is, but I will get a Google answer, so never mind.  But she would have known that one, too!  She taught me cricket, and had me rooting for SA all the time.

Thoughts swirled a bit today as I realized that two weeks from today will be our 1oth wedding anniversary, and my other big date being year 31 on June 15th.

I am first, a theological junkie.  Live and breathe Scripture and the Lutheran Book of Concord.  CFW 1986, ordained 6/15/86.

Second – I am a political junkie – History and Poly Sci having been my “dual” undergrad degree at A2, with my minor being another “dual” – Theology and Exegetics.

And third – I am an absolutely unhinged baseball addict and Boston Red Sox freak.  And I am still angling toward it – there is quite the Men’s 55+ baseball league down here.  I am finally getting my weight back near my normal levels, but I need some time in a batting cage, at the gym playing basketball and doing the weight training room.

Next spring, just might give it a go.  I lost 0ver 30 with the sciatica – couldn’t exercise at all, then after that passed, was back near my old playing weight.  January being what it was, I lost it all again.  It is just in the last 60 days I have my full appetite back, and I have gained back almost half.  I could be full weight by mid-summer, and I need to get that inexpensive weight set now and start getting back in playing shape.

And for it all, I could be whistling “Dixie” in the dark.  I’ll have to try, or put that puppy to bed for good.  Thank the Lord He invented golf!  Vocationally, a full-time vacancy would put the baseball puppy to bed, and leave only golf as an option anyway!

The last is first, though.  Nothing would beat that!  Full-time WCW!

Anyway, I needed to make a “shout-out” to my sweetie, anyway!

Yours

Leave a Reply

